Country Music Alberta has unveiled its nominees for their 12th annual Awards Show


The CMAB Awards Show is set to take place in Calgary, for the first time ever, on April 2, 2023. The awards weekend will be held at Grey Eagle Resort and Casino and promises to be bigger and more dynamic than ever, with over 100 Alberta musicians and industry professionals celebrated across 23 award categories. The spectrum of nominees that include CCMA award-winning acts like Lindsay Ell, MacKenzie Porter, Bobby Wills, and Nice Horse to rising talents such as Alex Hughes, Kyle McKearney, Amy Hef, Devin Cooper, The Goddamsels, Flaysher, and Ryan Lindsay, is yet again another example of just how expansive the Alberta country music community has become.

This year’s most-nominated musical acts are the CCMA award-winning band Nice Horse and country rocker Devin Cooper. Cooper has garnered six awards, including Horizon Male Artist of the Year, Fans’ Choice, and Album of the Year, while Nice Horse has garnered six nominations as a band in categories like Horizon Single of the Year, Horizon Group of the Year, and Interactive Artist of the Year. The band’s guitar player Tara McLeod is nominated for Musician of the Year, bringing the Nice Horse’s total nominations to a record-breaking seven.

Other acts with multiple nominations include Renegade Station and Brandon Lorenzo with four, and Ryan Lindsay, Megan Dawson, and Flaysher with three. First-time Horizon Female Artist of the Year nominee Amy Hef has two nominations, but notably, is the first-ever queer act to be nominated in this artist category in the history of the CMAB Awards.
Says Calgary-based singer Amy Hef,

“It’s a true honour to be in this award category alongside so many of my talented peers. The Alberta country music community has welcomed me with open arms over the past few years. To be making a bit of queer history with my nomination? Well, I think it’s about damn time!”

Country Music Alberta Awards Nominees

Male Artist of the Year
Gord Bamford
Brett Kissel
Corb Lund
Aaron Goodvin
Bobby Wills
Dan Davidson

Female Artist of the Year
Lindsay Ell
Tenille Townes
MacKenzie Porter

Group or Duo of the Year
The Prairie States
High Valley

Single of the Year
“Right On Time” – Lindsay Ell
“You Ain’t” – Aaron Goodvin
“Pickup” – Mackenzie Porter
“The Last Time” – Tenille Townes
“Drink Along Song” – Gord Bamford

Horizon Female Artist of the Year
Megan Dawson
Alex Hughes
Martina Dawn
Amy Hef
Kalsey Kulyk

Horizon Male Artist of the Year
Donny Lee
Chris Brien
Devin Cooper
Garrett Gregory
Brandon Lorenzo

Horizon Group or Duo of the Year
Renegade Station
The Dungarees
Nice Horse
Foxx Worthee

Horizon Single of the Year
“Trampoline” – Nice Horse
“Influence” – Megan Dawson
“You Set The Bar” – Brandon Lorenzo
“Every Now and Then” – Renegade Station
“Rain” – The Dungarees

Fans’ Choice
Nice Horse
Renegade Station
Devin Cooper
Kyle McKearney
Brandon Lorenzo
Ashley Ghostkeeper
Chris Brien
Donny Lee
Garrett Gregory
Brettyn Rose
Amy Hef
Travis Dolter
Duane Steele

Album of the Year
Take Me Home – The Travelling Mabels
Palace Waiting – Skinny Dyck
Good Things – Devin Cooper
Chinook Waltz – Over The Moon
Seasons – Ryan Lindsay
Pinto – Sykamore

Roots Artist of the Year
The Goddamsels
Ryan Langlois
Trevor Panczak
Stirling John
Kyle McKearney
Ryan Lindsay

Interactive Artist of the Year
Nice Horse
Michela Sheedy
Hailey Benedict
Ryan Lindsay
Devin Cooper

Video of the Year
“Kissed Me Like That” – Megan Dawson
“Underdog” – Devin Cooper
“Leavin’ You” – Garrett Gregory
“Wanted You To” – Hailey Benedict
“Trampoline” – Nice Horse

Horizon Youth Award
Mya Kate
Kat Krys

Community Spirit Award
Devin Cooper
Hailey Benedict
Clayton Bellamy
Drew Gregory
Stirling John
Gord Bamford Foundation

Industry Person of the Year
Tera Lee Flaman / GPS Promotion and GPS Artist Management
Laurie Brown / Porch Swing Entertainment
Johnny Gasparic / MCC Recording Studio
Sarah Scott / Real Country 95.9 FM and Studio B Podcast
Codi McIvor / Video Director, Content Creator and Interview Host

Live Country Venue or Presenting Series of the Year
The Blue Jay Sessions (Calgary)
Ol’ MacDonald’s Music Festival (Buffalo Lake)
Whiskey Rose Saloon (Calgary)
King Eddy (Calgary)
Ranchman’s Cookhouse and Dance Hall (Calgary)
Stampede City Sessions (Calgary)

Talent Buyer of the Year
Rob Cyrynowski / Livestar Entertainment Canada and Hotels Live Canada
Cheryl Barkhouse / Katavallo Entertainment Group
Dan Clapson / Blue Jay Sessions and The Prairie Emporium
Adam Oppenheim / Stampede Entertainment
Carla Hackman / Sakamoto Agency

Musician of the Year
Weston Blatz (drums)
Brendan Lyons (drums)
Tara McLeod (guitar) Nice Horse band member
Mitch Jay (banjo, dobro, guitar, steel guitar, mandolin)
Johnny Gasparic (guitar, mandolin, banjo, lap steel, dobro)

Songwriter(s) of the Year
“Trampoline” – Written by Brandi Sidoryk, Tara McLeod, Krista Wodelet, Katie Rox, Shobha Lee, Rob Wells / Performed by Nice Horse
“Good For You” – Written by Brad Flaysher, Ryan Flaysher, Megan Dawson / Performed by
“You Set The Bar” – Written by Brandon Lorenzo, Chard Morrison, Ty Baynton / Performed by
Brandon Lorenzo
“Every Now and Then” – Written by Russ Carl, Drew Gregory, Troy Kokol / Performed by
Renegade Station
“Level Up” – Written by Hailey Benedict / Performed by Hailey Benedict

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)
Country 105 (Calgary)
840 CFCW (Edmonton)
CJWE FM (Calgary)
CFWE FM (Edmonton)
WILD 95.3 (Calgary)

Radio Station of the Year (Small / Medium Market)
Sun Country 99.7 (High River)
CKFM 96.5 (Olds)
104.5 More Country (Strathmore)
Real Country 95.9 (Lloydminster)
New Country 98.1 (Camrose)

Visual Creative of the Year
Pete Nguyen (The Prairie States)
Bronwin Parks and Phil Crozier (Gord Bamford)
Chad Murphy (Devin Cooper)
Chris Cavill, Chris Doi and Jeff Ojeda (Kyle McKearney)
Michelle Spice (various artists)

Tickets for industry professionals can be purchased now via Eventbrite.

Details about the Awards Show’s exciting host, performers, fan zone tickets, and more will be announced in the coming weeks.

Join the conversation on socials using the hashtag #CMAB, #CMABAwards, and by tagging @countrymusicalberta.

For more information, go to the CBAB website.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login