Performers & hosts announced for 2022 JUNO Opening Night Awards

The Canadian music industry is set to reunite on May 14 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre with The 51st Annual JUNO Opening Night Awards; hosted by CBC’s Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe and The Great Canadian Baking Show’s Ann Pornel.

As one of the first live industry events since the pandemic began, the JUNO Opening Night Awards will feature the presentation of more than 40 JUNO Awards and will include the recognition of this year’s special achievement award recipients including the Humanitarian Award (Susan Aglukark), the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award (Denise Jones) and The MusiCounts Inspired Minds Ambassador Award.

The evening will also feature five electrifying performances from 2022 JUNO Award nominees including Francophone Album of the Year nominee, Roxane Bruneau, Alternative Album of the Year nominee, Ruby Waters, Group of the Year nominees, Valley, Songwriter of the Year nominee, Allison Russell, and 2021/2022 Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class shortlist artist, Jesse Gold.

After the 2020 and 2021 festivals and ceremonies were scrapped in the wake of the first waves of the global COVID-19 pandemic in favour of virtual presentations, the 2022 JUNO Week will take place from May 9th to May 15th, with the culminating broadcast of the 51st annual JUNO Awards returning to a live setting on May 15th from Toronto’s Budweiser Stage.

The 51st Annual JUNO Opening Night Awards are set to Livestream across Canada at 6 p.m. ET/ 3 p.m. PT on Saturday, May 14 via, CBC Gem, and CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter, TikTok, and Youtube pages.

For more information and to keep up-to-date with all the 2022 JUNO Awards celebrations, please be sure to visit

You must be logged in to post a comment Login