Gearl releases new album, From The Ground Up

Mi’kmaq rapper Gearl (pronounced JURL, rhymes with ‘whirl’) celebrates the release of his new album, From The Ground Up.

A former member of the award-winning trio City Natives and the nation-spanning collective K.U.$.H., Gearl arrives with a sophomore solo album that serves as a glimpse into his personal experiences of being Indigenous in the Maritimes while also transmitting a wider appreciation and knowledge of the Mi’kmaq language and culture.

“With this new album you can learn a few Mi’kmaq words just by listening to the songs,” he says. “I took my style of intense energy and moved it towards more of a healing energy. I wanted to make music that makes people amped up to stand up for themselves.”

From The Ground Up also embraces a collective spirit, finding Gearl working alongside six other producers and tapping collaborators such as Shift From Tha 902, Devon Paul, Blake Francis, Fortunato and more for features. The record’s focus track, “Meskeyi,” also introduces Eskasoni’s Maisyn Sock on the hook (delivered in Mi’kmaq) – a partnership cultivated through a video she sent to the rapper on a whim.


1. Samqwan (feat. Sweet Cambodia & HellnBack) * [3:57]
2. Systemic [3:15]
3. Set The Tone (feat. Devon Paul & Blake Francis) [3:36]
4. Meskeyi (feat. Maisyn Sock) [3:45]
5. So Fresh (feat. Brizzle BodyBag Breezey) [3:56]
6. Constantine [5:15]
7. Lele’s Song * [3:22]
8. Life’s A Dream * [3:11]
9. Decomposition (feat. Shekky Nokes) [2:59]
10. My Roots [2:54]
11. Puktew (feat. Mac Malicious & Fortunato) * [4:35]
12. Enjoy The Love * [3:20]
13. Jacob’s Ladder (feat. Shift From Tha 902) [4:20]
14. Regularly [3:13]
15. Shake Em Off [3:56]
* = Clean/Clean Versions Available
All songs SOCAN 2021 / MAPL

Connect with  Gearl:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login