2022 Canadian Folk Music Award Nominees Announced

The 17th Canadian Folk Music Awards are a-go for April 1 to April 3, 2022, in Charlottetown, PEI; and are excited to announce the list of 2022 Canadian Folk Music Award nominees.

Established to celebrate Canada’s vibrant, diverse, and internationally recognized folk music community, this year’s nominees span the country from Whitehorse to Halifax.  The nominees were chosen by more than 100 jurors from across the country in a two-stage jury process.

New for 2022, ‘Global Roots Album of the Year’ is the new name for ‘World Album of the Year,’ and the CFMAs announced that submissions of an album were now eligible to be submitted in more than one songwriting category, provided they meet the category requirements.

Those looking to attend the CMFA 2022 Awards in Charlottetown are encouraged to visit folkawards.ca/ to join their mailing list to stay on top of our upcoming events, announcements and awards weekend details.

The 2022 Canadian Folk Music Award Nominees are:

Children’s Album of the Year

Campfire Time! Peter Lenton aka Peter Puffin’s Whale Tales
Falling in Africa Garth Prince
Believe in Your Magic Penny Pom Pom
Heart Parade Splash’N Boots
Think About the Wild Remy Rodden

Contemporary Album of the Year

XO, 1945 Ryland Moranz
All This Time Running Craig Cardiff
Solar Powered Too Rick Fines
Voyageur In Song David Leask
Outside Child Allison Russell
À l’ouest du réel Reney Ray
Come Around Rob Lutes
Encounter BEYRIES

Contemporary Singer of the Year

Kelly Bado
Terra Spencer
Craig Cardiff
Denise Flack
Rob Lutes

English Songwriter(s) of the Year

Scott Cook
Noah Reid
Rick Fines
Allison Russell
Ian Tamblyn
Rob Lutes

Ensemble of the Year

The Hello Darlins
The Fugitives
Elliott BROOD

French Songwriter(s) of the Year

Émilie Landry
Anne-Sophie Doré-Coulombe
Flavie Léger-Roy
Guillaume Beaulac
Reney Ray

Global Roots Album of the year

El Currucha Eliana Cuevas (feat. Aquiles Báez)
Espiral OKAN
Songs From Home Polky
VelkomBak Gypsy Kumbia Orchestra
Wutiko Elage Diouf

Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year

Phyllis Sinclair
Morgan Toney
David Laronde
Chelsey June & Jaaji
Laura Niquay

Instrumental Group of the Year

Amber & Zebulun
Shane Cook & The Woodchippers
Frank Evans & Ben Plotnick

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year

Adam Young
Maneli Jamal
Cédric Dind-Lavoie
Dave Clarke
Olivier Demers

New/Emerging Artist(s) of the Year

The Hello Darlins
Noah Reid
Allison Russell
David Lafleche

Oliver Schroer Pushing the Boundaries Award

Decoration Day
Speaker Face
Allison Russell
Cédric Dind-Lavoie

Producer(s) of the Year

David Travers-Smith, Fernando Rosa, Annabelle Chvostek (String of Pearls)
Luke Doucet, Melissa McClelland (Modern Love)
Cédric Dind-Lavoie, Corne de brume (Archives)
Quinn Bachand (Légèrement)
Rob Lutes, Rob MacDonald (Come Around)

Single of the Year

“Still Waters” The Hello Darlins (feat. Matt Andersen)
“Never Mind The Weather” Big Little Lions
“Gospel First Nation” William Prince
“Everything Reminds Me” The Deep Dark Woods
“Yellow Snow” Andrea Bettger
“Elmira (Remix)” The East Pointers (feat. Lonely Kid)
“Pontoise” Rosier
“The River” Loryn Taggart

Solo Artist of the Year

Dana Sipos
William Prince
Laura Smith
Maneli Jamal
Rick Fines
Alicia Toner

Traditional Album of the Year

Kitchen Days Braden Gates
Alive Fred Eaglesmith & Tif Ginn
Be Here for a While Shane Cook & The Woodchippers
Le bonhomme Sept Heures / The Bonesetter Grosse Isle
Les sessions du Vices & Versa – 15th Anniversary David Boulanger

Traditional Singer of the Year

Ray Schmidt
Pat Chessell
Ewelina Ferenc
Nicolas Boulerice
Sophie Lavoie

Vocal Group of the Year

The Fugitives
The Gilberts
Les Bouches Bées
Twin Flames

Young Performer(s) of the Year

Paige Penney
Isabella Samson
Hannah Thomas
Irish Millie
The Broken Bridges

You must be logged in to post a comment Login