It was a twofold delivery day for platinum selling country music duo The Reklaws with the release of their album Sophomore Slump and video for “Not Gonna Not”

On October 16, Jenna and Stuart Walker, the brother-sister duo known as The Reklaws (CCMA Award winners and JUNO Award nominees) released their second album Sophomore Slump via Universal Music Canada. It’s the follow-up to their gold-certified debut full-length album Freshman Year, which is the most domestically streamed album by a Canadian country music artist in the past decade. This 12-track album was recorded in Stuart Walker’s living room after Covid-19 pummelled the world and features their gold-certified hit single “Where I’m From,” their newest single “Not Gonna Not” as well as everyone’s favourite drinking anthem “Beer Can.”

Sophomore Slump was produced by Todd Clark and tells a variety of stories that sum up the ever-enduring shared feelings and moments, regardless of whether fortunate or unfortunate, that were experienced during school/college years. During these transition years or the coming of age years, life-changing choices were made, hearts were broken and expectations, hopes and dreams for the future came to mind. The collection of songs on this album is the reflective soundtrack to those years.

Via Facebook, the Reklaws say of Sophomore Slump,

“Well … here it is. We would like to introduce you to Sophomore Slump. This is our heart and souls! This is what came out of this “slump” of a year! When you listen we hope you envision those packed festivals and arenas, and see yourself with your family and friends laughing and enjoying life! Cause it’s going to happen again. Thank you to everyone who had a hand in making this happen, you have truly cared about what we want to say and for that we are grateful. The writers, producers, management, label, family, friends, and fans … this is a promise to you that we are just getting started! Welcome to Reklaw 2.0 let’s get this party started!”

Sophomore Slump track list

  1. Gramps’ Intro
  2. Not Gonna Not
  3. Got Me Missing
  4. You Problem
  5. I’m Down
  6. So Crazy It Just Might Work
  7. Your Side of A Broken Heart
  8. Where I’m From
  9. Karma
  10. Beer Can
  11. Godspeed
  12. Where I’m From (Acoustic)

Download or stream Sophomore Slump here.

Also on October 16, The Reklaws released the official video for their newest hit single “Not Gonna Not.” This video was filmed in their hometown of Cambridge, Ontario, and was directed by Ben Knechtal. The Walker siblings had way too much fun in the making of this video. And that puppy though …

The Reklaws, who have garnered over 125 million streams to date, are without a doubt on track to be country music’s next superstars.

Connect with The Reklaws:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login