ECMA 2020 winners announced

With the unfortunate cancellation of the 2020 East Coast Music Awards in St. John’s, the East Coast Music Association had to find a new way to celebrate all the hard work the industry put in over the last year. Last weekend, they announced the winners through two live-streamed events.
Friday afternoon had a stream through their Facebook and YouTube pages which announced Industry award winners and some of the music categories. The 2020 Honorary Award recipients were honoured during the stream, Measha Brueggergosman was awarded the Directors’ Special Achievement Award, Tony Murray was awarded the Industry Builder Award while Kelly Russell took home the Musician’s Achievement Award. You can stream those awards here.
Saturday saw ten awards given out including Wintersleep’s “In The Land Of” taking Album of the Year and The East Pointers winning Songwriter of the Year. Jimmy Rankin won Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year and Jason Benoit and Leah Daniels video for Slow Hand (directed by Tim Deegan) won Fans Choice Video of the Year. Shanneyganock were honoured with the Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award.  The full awards show can be streamed through CBC Gem here.
From the team at Canadian Beats, congratulations to all winners!  A full list of winners can be found here.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login