Polaris Music Prize Long List to be announced June 15

The 2020 Polaris Music Prize Long List is set to be announced on June 15 with a little help from past nominees.

Starting at 12 p.m. EDT / 9 a.m. PDT,  past Polaris Prize nominees Bonjay, Cadence Weapon, Lisa Leblanc, PUP, Radio Radio, Shad, Snotty Nose Rez Kids, 2019 winner, Haviah Mighty, and many more will be on hand to reveal the albums selected for the 2020 Polaris Prize Long List live on the Polaris Facebook page and YouTube channels.

The 10 album Short List will be unveiled live on July 15 on a CBC Music radio special, while the 2020 Polaris Music Prize-winning album will be revealed via CBCMusic.ca/Polaris at a later date to be announced.

Every year, the Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, as voted on by music journalists, who judge their selection solely on artistic merit and without consideration for genre or record sales. In addition, the nine other Short Listed nominated acts will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

Past winners of the Polaris Music Prize include Jeremy Dutcher, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Feist, Arcade Fire and Fucked Up.

For more information about the Polaris Music Prize, please be sure to visit  https://polarismusicprize.ca/.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login