Polaris Music Prize Gala announces first confirmed performers

With the announcement of their Short List nominees, the 2019 Polaris Music Prize Gala has announced the first of the evening’s performers.

Confirmed for the September 16 event to announce the winner of the 2019 Polaris Music Prize at The Carlu in Toronto are Short List-nominees Marie Davidson, Dominique Fils-Aimé, Elisapie, PUP and Shad; and will be hosted by CBC Music’s Raina Douris.

Tickets to the event are limited and go on sale August 2 via Ticketmaster.  For those who cannot attend the Polaris Music Prize Gala, the event will be live-streamed globally at cbcmusic.ca/polaris.

As tradition, the winner of The 2019 Polaris Music Prize will be determined at the Carlu during the Gala performances by a group of 11 jurors comprising of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada. The grand prize of $50,000 is awarded to the artist determined to have Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales. In addition, the nine other Short List nominees will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

For all the latest on the 2019 Polaris Music Prize, be sure to stay tuned to Canadian Beats for all your Polaris news!

You must be logged in to post a comment Login