Electric Youth release new single “ARAWA”

Last week, Toronto duo Electric Youth released a new track called “ARAWA”, the second single from their forthcoming album “Memory Emotion” set to release on August 9th. Short for “As Restless As We Are”, you can stream/purchase the track here.

Since breaking through on the soundtrack to Nicolas Winding Refn’s 2011 film, Drive, where their “A Real Hero” scored pivotal scenes, Electric Youth haven’t slowed down. After releasing their 2014 debut, Innerworld—hailed by Rolling Stone as “euphoric, wistful pop”—the Canadian duo spent the subsequent years working on new songs and film scores, in addition to collaborating again with Refn (Good Blood appeared on the companion soundtrack for his 2016 film, The Neon Demon, while their 2017 release, Breathing, an Original Motion Picture Soundtrack From A Lost Film, was released under his album series), as well as Gesaffelstein (Hyperion, Columbia Records)and Oscar-winning composer, Ryuichi Sakamoto (Async Remodels).

Electric Youth’s self-produced Memory Emotion is the yang to the yin of their acclaimed debut: whereas Innerworld had an inward focus and the immersive atmospherics of a headphones album, the new LP looks outward, exploring a wider spectrum of sounds, moods and tempos, resulting in their most dynamic body of work yet.

Austin Garrick explains:

“Memory Emotion is much more outer-world, an album focused on the external world we live in and the way in which we interact with the world as a result of the emotions attached to our memories. Innerworld was finding that sense of self, developing and establishing a viewpoint, and Memory Emotion is us taking that viewpoint with us out into the world.”

Electric Youth will perform next at a NY album release show on August 17 at Brooklyn’s Music Hall of Williamsburg. Stay tuned for more dates!

Connect with Electric Youth

You must be logged in to post a comment Login