Mac Demarco releases video for “Nobody” ahead of album release

Mac DeMarco will release his fourth full-length album, Here Comes The Cowboy, on May 10th. The follow-up to 2017’s This Old Dog, which featured “the best romantic tunes the well-known romantic has ever penned” (Entertainment Weekly), Here Comes The Cowboy is the debut release on Mac’s Record Label (Royal Mountain Records in Canada). In conjunction with today’s announcement, he shares the waltzing lead single, “Nobody,” and an accompanying self-directed video.

“This one is my cowboy record. Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren’t the people I’m referring to.” As described by DeMarco.

Here Comes The Cowboy was written, tracked and mixed at DeMarco’s Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles during the first two weeks of an exceptionally rainy January 2019. Nearly every instrument on the album was played by DeMarco, aside from keyboards on select tracks by touring member and close friend Alec Meen. Travelling sound engineer, Joe Santarpia, helped shape the record, sharing engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco.

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates
Wed. April 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sat. April 13 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
Sat. April 20 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
Tue. May 7 – Sonoma, CA @ Gundlach Bundschu Winery – Outdoor Amphitheater Stage
Fri. May 10 – Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
Sat. May 11 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Sun. May 12 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Mon. May 13 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Wed. May 15 – Blue Lake, CA @ Blue Lake Casino
Thu. May 16 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
Sat. May 18 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
Mon. May 20 – Big Sur, CA @ The Henry Miller Library
Tue. May 21 – Big Sur, CA @ Fernwood Resort
Wed. May 22 – San Luis Obispo, CA @ Expo Center at Madonna Inn
Thu. May 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. April 27 – Virginia Beach, VA @ Something in the Water
Sat. June 1 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret
Sun. June 2 – London, UK @ All Points East Festival
Tue. June 11 – Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center w/ Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals
Wed. June 12 – Dallas, TX @ Toyota Music Factory w/ Anderson. Paak & The Free Nationals
Fri. June 14 – Austin, TX @ Long Center Lawn Amphitheater
Sun. June 16 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo
Wed. June 26 – Glasgow, UK @ Kelvingrove Bandstand
Thu. June 27 – Halifax, UK @ Halifax Piece Hall
Sat. June 29 – Margate, UK @ Dreamland
Sun. June 30 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Tue. July 2 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. July 3 – Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene
Thu. July 4 – Stockholm, SE @ Munchen Brewery
Sat. July 6 – Herouville-Saint-Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard
Mon. July 8 – Milan, IT@ Magnolia
Fri. July 12 – Trencin, SK @ Pohoda Festival
Sun. July 14 – Dublin, IE @ Iveagh Gardens
Tue. Aug. 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Prospect Park Bandshell
Fri. Sept. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theatre
Fri. Sept. 20 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Sat. Sept. 21 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall (Outdoors)
Sun. Sept. 22 – Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre Boston
Tue. Sept. 24 – Toronto, ON @ RBC Echo
Thu. Sept. 26 – Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 – Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre
Sat. Sept. 28 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Sun. Sept. 29 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Tue. Oct. 1 – Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater
Wed. Oct. 2 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Thu. Oct. 3 – East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt
Fri. Oct. 4 – Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Sun. Oct. 6 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Wed. Nov. 6 – Sat. Nov. 9 – Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sat. Nov. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA
Sun. Nov. 10 – Hamburg, DE @ Grosse Freiheit 36
Mon. Nov. 11 – Berlin, DE @ Columbiahalle

Connect with Mac Demarco
Website
Facebook
Instagram

Share this:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login