Canadian Country Music Association, at their Gala Dinner & Awards on Saturday night, celebrated with the best for the best in country music

Photo Credit: Nicole Wolfe

On Saturday, September 8, 2018, The Canadian Country Music Association® (CCMA®) Gala Dinner & Awards presented by SOCAN, was held in the Chedoke Room at the Hamilton Convention Centre in Hamilton. Ontario. This was the second of three award ceremonies this past weekend. Many awards were handed out and there were a few repeat wins for some. Those that took home the hardware were beyond delighted to do so.

2018 CCMA Award winners are:

2018 Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame Inductee

Artist Inductee

Terri Clark

Stan Klees Builder Award – Builder Inductee

Jackie Rae Greening

CCMA Awards of Achievement

Slaight Music Humanitarian Award

Country Thunder Humboldt Broncos Tribute Concert

Leonard T. Rambeau International Award 

Steven Goldmann

Artist Awards

Interactive Artist of the Year

Brett Kissel: this is his fifth consecutive win in this category

Roots Artist or Group of the Year (presented by CCS Rights Management)

The Washboard Union: this is their third consecutive win in this category

Songwriter(s) of the Year (presented by ole)

Skip Black, Aaron Goodvin, Catt Gravitt

Song: “Lonely Drum” (performed by Aaron Goodvin)

Top-Selling Canadian Single of the Year (presented by ACTRA RACS)

“Chills” ­– James Barker Band

Stingray Video of the Year

“Sky Stays This Blue” – Dallas Smith

Musician Awards

Guitar Player of the Year (presented by Yamaha)

Matt McKay: this is his second consecutive win in this category

Keyboard Player of the Year (presented by Yamaha)

Bart McKay: this is his second consecutive win in this category

Specialty Instrument Player of the Year (presented by Judy Marsales Real Estate)

Shane Guse – Mandolin

Radio Awards

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)

CISN-FM (Edmonton, AB)

Radio Station of the Year (Medium or Small Market)

CHCQ FM (Belleville, ON)

Industry Awards 

Music Publishing Company of the Year


Record Company of the Year (presented by Music Canada)

Warner Music Canada

Record Company Person of the Year

Steve Coady, Vice President, Radio Promotions, Warner Music Canada

Ron Sakamoto Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year

Jim Cressman, Invictus Entertainment Group

You must be logged in to post a comment Login