2017 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize winners announced

Beginning in 2015 as a way to honour past Canadian albums of distinction, the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize has announced it’s 2017 winners.

The eight winners for the prize were chosen from four short lists, each representing four different musical periods before the conception of the Polaris Music Prize; with two winners from each period selected from a jury vote and a public vote.  Much like the Polaris Music Prize, the Heritage Prize shortlisted albums represent Canadian music albums of distinction without regard to musical genre or commercial popularity; making the Heritage Prize the Polaris version of a “hall of fame.”

Previous winners of the prize include Sloan’s Twice Removed, Mary Margaret O’Hera’s Miss America, and Neil Young’s After the Gold Rush.

The 2017 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize winners are as follows:

Public: Gordon Lightfoot – Lightfoot!
Jury: The Band – The Band

Public: Harmonium – L’Heptade
Jury: Glenn Gould – Bach: The Goldberg Variations

Public: The Tragically Hip – Fully Completely
Jury: Eric’s Trip – Love Tara

Public: Feist – Let It Die
Jury: k-os – Joyful Rebellion

You must be logged in to post a comment Login