Rundown – CCMA Gala Dinner & Awards

The Gala Dinner & Awards presented by SOCAN was held in the Grand Salon at SCU Place, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, on Saturday, September 9, 2017. Many awards were handed out and those that took home the hardware were beyond delighted to do so.

2017 CCMA Award winners were:

2017 Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees

Artist Inductee

Paul Brandt

Stan Klees Builder Award – Builder Inductee

Harvey Gold

CCMA Award of Achievement

Slaight Music Humanitarian Award

Country 105 Caring for Kids Radiothon

Leonard T. Rambeau International Award 

Franck Boucheraud

Artist Awards 

CCMA Discovery Award presented by Country 107.3

Kalsey Kulyk

Roots Artist or Group of the Year

The Washboard Union

Songwriter of the Year presented by ole 

Dean Brody

Song: “Time” (performed by Dean Brody)

Interactive Artist of the Year

Brett Kissel

Musician Awards

Guitar Player of the Year presented by Cithara Guitars

Matt McKay

Keyboard Player of the Year

Bart McKay

Specialty Instrument Player of the Year

Denis Dufresne – Banjo

Radio Awards

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)

CKRY FM – Calgary, AB

Radio Station of the Year (Medium or Small Market)

CHCQ FM – Belleville, ON

Industry Awards 

Music Publishing Company of the Year


Record Company of the Year

Warner Music Canada

Record Company Person of the Year

Mike Denney – MDM Recordings Inc.

Ron Sakamoto Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year

Jim Cressman – Invictus Entertainment Group

Top-Selling Album of the Year

Ripcord – Keith Urban

Top-Selling Canadian Album of the Year presented by Music Canada

Side Effects – Dallas Smith

Top-Selling Canadian Single of the Year presented by Actra Racs

“Bush Party” – Dean Brody


You must be logged in to post a comment Login