Whitney Rose has released her first song, “Can’t Stop Shakin’” from her new album, Rule 62, that will be released on October 6

Canadian country music singer-songwriter Whitney Rose lives her life by Rule 62 so her soon to be released album Rule 62 (six Shooter Records) is aptly named. What is Rule 62? It’s a “colloquialism of Alcoholics Anonymous. Rule 62 is “don’t take yourself too damn seriously.”

This album has 11 tracks that have Raul Malo as producer and Niko Bolas as co-producer, both top of the line in their field. Malo played as a musician as well as harmonies on this album along with Paul Deakin (The Mavericks) on drums, Jay Weaver (Dolly Parton, Tanya Tucker, The Mavericks) on bass, Jen Gunderman (Sheryl Crow) on piano, Chris Scruggs (Marty Stuart) on steel, Aaron Till (Asleep at the Wheel) on the fiddle and Kenny Vaughn (Marty Stuart, Lucinda Williams) on lead guitar.

“Can’t Stop Shakin’” is her first release from Rule 62. It has a blues feel to it and a vibe from the 1960s. The instrumentals on this single are phenomenal. Rose’s voice is sheer perfection.

It was recorded on a historic day in the United States: Inauguration Day, January 20, 2017. This was supposed to be a song to relieve anxiety but in “Memphis soul dance party form.” On that day, everything changed and “Can’t Stop Shakin’” took on a whole new meaning as it was rewritten.

Rose says about this single,

“We recorded that song on Inauguration Day and you could physically feel the divide between the public and the unrest in the air. I was in the studio that week every day for twelve hours on average, so realized my contribution was going to have to take place within the walls of Blackbird. So the song that started as a personal anthem got a rewrite that day.”

This is a song that you can listen to time and again and will always want to listen to time and again.


Connect with Whitney Rose:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login