Canadian Music Week announces 2017 Jim Beam Indies with Indie88 nominees

Canadian Music Week has announced the nominees for the 2017 Indies – the 17th Annual Independent Music Awards – presented by Jim Beam with Indie88. Wintersleep, The Strumbellas, July Talk, Kaytranada, Charlotte Day Wilson, Tanya Tagaq, Jazz Cartier and A Tribe Called Red are some of the nominees alongside a number of artists being honoured across 14 categories on Wednesday April 19th at the Phoenix Concert Theatre in Toronto.

The Jim Beam INDIES with Indie88 is supported by The Ontario Media Development Corporation through the Ontario Music Fund, and recognizes the best and brightest talent that independent music has to offer.

This year’s awards will be hosted by Indie88’s Matt Hart and Josie Dye, and will feature performances by Hollerado, The Wooden Sky, Repartee (nominated for Pop Artist/Group Of The Year), The Nursery (winners of the Jim Beam Make History Talent Search), Dan Mangan (recipient of the Make History Award), and a special set from 54-40 (Hall Of Fame Inductees).

For more information and to purchase tickets go to

To purchase a festival wristband, visit Keep in mind that limited #CMW2017 wristbands/passes will be accepted for the Jim Beam INDIES with Indie88.

Public and industry votes decide the winners. Fans can vote online at

2017 Indie Awards Nominees

Album of the Year
A Tribe Called Red – We are the Halluci Nation
Andy Shauf– The Party
Basia Bulat – Good Advice
Kaytranada – 99.9%
PUP – The Dream is Over

Single of the Year
Bob Moses – Tearing Me Up
Grimes – Flesh Without Blood
July Talk – Push and Pull
The Strumbellas – We Don’t Know
The Zolas – Swooner

Group of the Year     
A Tribe Called Red
July Talk
Tokyo Police Club

Artist of the Year  
Basia Bulat
Hannah Georgas
River Tiber
Tanya Tagaq

Songwriter of the Year
Andy Shauf – Quite Like You; the Magician
Bob Moses – Tearing Me Up
Dan Mangan – Race to the Bottom
Kai – Never Be Like You (Feat. Flume)
The Strumbellas – Spirits; We Don’t Know

Alternative Artist/Group of the Year 
Charlotte Day Wilson
Plants and Animals

Electronic/Dance Artist/Group of the Year  
Holy Fuck
Jessy Lanza
Junior Boys
Tim Hecker
Zeds Dead

Francophone Artist/Group of the Year
Alaclair Ensemble
Dead Obies
Fred Fortin
Klô Pelgag

Indigenous Artist/Group of the Year
Amanda Rheaume
Crystal Shawanda
Jace Martin
Silla + Rise
Twin Flames

Pop Artist/Group of the Year
Charlotte Cardin
Coleman Hell
Marianas Trench
Virginia to Vegas

Rap/R&B Artist/Group of the Year  
Clairmont the Second
Jazz Cartier
River Tiber
Tanika Charles
Tasha the Amazon

Rock Artist/Group of the Year
Black Mountain
Monster Truck
The Pack A.D.
White Lung

Singer-Songwriter Artist/Group of the Year   
Daniel Romano
Donovan Woods
John K Samson
Lisa Leblanc
Terra Lightfoot

International Artist/Group of the Year  
Anderson .Paak
Angel Olsen
Car Seat Headrest
Chance the Rapper
Frank Ocean

Connect with Canadian Music Week

You must be logged in to post a comment Login