Review – Rococode

By: Amanda Hather

EP – Panic Attack
Download Link –
Release Date – October 9th, 2015
Genre – Indie Pop
Label – Marquis Label Services

Laura Smith and Andrew Braun make up the Vancouver duo Rococode. Their highly anticipated EP ‘Panic Attack’ was released earlier this month. The EP will be followed by their next full length album, expected in February of 2016. The five track release includes a remix of the title track as well as a cover of INXS’s hit “Never Tear Us Apart”.

‘Panic Attack’ certainly packs in a lot for an EP that only has five tracks. The electronic style of the songs is not something I would usually listen to, but the duo definitely had my attention in the first few seconds of the title track. “Banks” starts off a bit slower than the previous song and combines vocals that almost echo and a beat that you can’t help but nod your head along to. “The Escape” is probably my favourite off of the EP and starts off much faster than the other songs and brings the vocals of the duo into the spotlight. I also really enjoyed their take on INXS’s “Never Tear Us Apart”. I had never imagined an electronic cover of a rock song sounding as well as it does, but I am glad to be wrong in this case. The last song on the EP is a remix of the title track that brings the song to a different level.

Overall, this EP is put together very well. I’m sure this EP just made their fans want the full length album even more.

Rating: 3.5/5

Connect with Rococode:

Catch Rococode on tour:

Share this:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login