Pre-Release Review – Century Thief

By: Remington Fioraso

Album: Reverie
Release Date: September 10, 2015
Download Link:
Genre: Indie/Folk/Rock

Century Thief is an indie-folk-rock group from Toronto, Ontario.  The band’s line-up consists of Mike Legere, Kathryn Kearns, Omar Shabbar, Adam Reid, Alex Furlot, and Jason Cliffen.  To date, the group has released three EP’s – Bury the Hatchet Presents Omar Shabbar, Bury the Hatchet Presents Kathryn Kearns, and Plume.   In October 2013, the band released “EP Anthology” containing the tracks from their first three extended plays.

Their first full-length album entitled “Reverie” will be released on September 10, 2015.  The album contains thirteen tracks including the single “Pillar.”  The date coincides with the Album Release Party at The Piston in Toronto.

Upon listening to Reverie, I was hooked from the opening track “Time Goes.”  I found myself listening to the album on repeat in its entirety.  After each listen, my favourite tracks changed slightly.  As I am writing this, they are currently “Time Goes,” “Oh Beautiful Impermanence,” and “Memo.”  The songs are well-written and performed very well.  It is an overall strong release, and great introduction to the band.

I would recommend listening to their single “Pillar” to get a taste of the album.  If you enjoy it, pick up the full album.   It is definitely worth checking out.

Rating: 5/5

Connect with Century Thief:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login