Review – Young Running

By: Amanda Hather

Album – Small Town City
iTunes Link –
Release Date – September 9, 2014
Genre – Indie Folk/Roots

Toronto four piece band Young Running includes Liam Kearney, James Moss, Spencer Irvine, and Kevin Braun. Their album, ‘Small Town City’, follows their previous album ‘Here Comes The Cavalry’ from 2011, and their EP ‘Coming Home’ from 2013.

The album definitely has the roots/country feel that the band prides itself on. The nine track release has a mix of faster and slower songs, some with more serious lyrics than others. The opening track, “Bigger”, has some of the more humorous lyrics of the rest of the songs. Other songs I enjoyed on the album would have to be “Darling”, “Days Pass”, “Train Ride”, and my favourite off of the album, “Stay With Me”.

Overall the album is definitely something you should look into. It’s not what I would usually listen to every day, but it is well put together and enjoyable. It would be a great addition to the playlist for those late summer parties if you want to get everyone up and dancing along.

Rating: 3/5

Young Running on social media:

Video for “Train Ride”:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply