Review – Kayo

By: Emily Thomson

Album: S.L.A.V.E.
ITunes Link:
Release Date: September 17, 2013
Label: Black Box Recordings
Genre: Hip hop

Track list:
1) Don’t Bring Me Down
2) S.L.A.V.E.
3) Rich Already
4) Anybody Out There
5) Jaded
6) Transitions
7) What You Want
8) Song for Nicole
9) Apology Accepted
10) Black Suburbans

Kayo released his album ‘S.L.A.V.E.’ in September. You might be wondering “what does ‘S.L.A.V.E.’ mean?”. ‘S.L.A.V.E.’ Stands for Serenity Lives Around Virtuous Energy.

Kayo released a video for the song ‘Rich Already’, you can check out our promo of it here: As I said before, ‘Rich Already’ is one of my favourite tracks off the album as well as ‘Anybody Out There’ and ‘Transitions’.

The song ‘S.L.A.V.E.’ takes you through the experience a slave would have saw and experienced. This is the type of song you really should take the time and listen to the lyrics. If you can, put the beat aside in your mind and really focus on the lyrics. The song also feature Quake Matthews.

Judging by just the title this album is really meaningful to Kayo. The songs are about real things unlike other rap songs about getting rich and getting a mansion.

Besides have meaningful and possibly relatable lyrics, this album has some pretty crazy beats. Not very many rappers are able to have meaningful lyrics as well as good beats.

I’ve had the chance to see some of these songs live. I really recommend you give this album a listen and go see Kayo if he plays a show near you.

Rating :5/5

Connect with Kayo:

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply