Review – Five Alarm Funk

Album: Sweat Release Date: March 3 , 2017 Download Genre: Afro Funk, Gypsy Rock, Latin Vancouver, BC based Five Alarm Funk, are releasing their sixth album by the name, Sweat.  The band consists of eight members, Tayo Branston (drums/vocals), Gabe Boothroyd (guitar), Oliver Gibson (guitar), Jason Smith (bass), Thomas Towers (congas), Carl Julig (timbales), Eli […]

Review – The Katherines

Album: To Bring You My Heart Release date: January 13, 2017 Download Genre: Alternative/Pop The Katherines, are three talented ladies from the Vancouver area.  To Bring You my Heart is their debut LP. Not many bands release full albums anymore, I personally miss it.  It was a treat to sit down and listen to the […]

Review – Harrow Fair

Album: Call to Arms Release date: October 21, 2016 Download Genre: Folk Harrow Fair, are a folky duo based in Toronto, ON.  This is their debut full length album.  Miranda Mulholland and Andrew Penner, make some really beautiful music together. This album has some great duets with rushing melodies, and great fiddle filled tracks to […]

Review – Sonic Avenues

Album: Disconnector Release Date: October 7, 2016 Download Genre: Rock Sonic Avenues, a band from the Montreal area consists of four members: Max, Sebastien, JC, and Chance. This release will be their fourth full length album.  Having never listened to the band, the first track “Future”, just screamed along and was filled with punk influences.  […]

Review – Revive the Rose

Album: Potato EP Release Date: February 21, 2015 Download Genre: Rock Revive the Rose are a four piece rock band from Welland, Ontario. Members consist of Andrew Colonico – Drums/Lead Vocal,  Peter Antoniou – Guitar/Vocals, Matt Cookson – Guitar/Vocals, Garrett Mullin – Bass.  The band have already opened for such talents as The Glorious Sons, […]

Review – Elephant Stone

Album: Ship of Fools (LP) Release Date: September 16, 2016 Download Genre: Indie Rock Elephant Stone, are a trio hailing from the Montreal area, who formed in 2009.  Members are, Rishi Dhir (singer/bassist/songwriter/sitar), Miles Dupire (drummer/backing vox) and Gabriel Lambert (geetar/backing vox). I quite enjoyed my listen to their new music being released this fall […]

Review – Jesse & The Dandelions

Album: True Blue Release Date: September 9, 2016 Download Genre: Indie Rock Jesse and the Dandelions have just released their third full length album.  You can also check out their music video for the track “No Fun”, which shows the band’s frontman performing skating moves such as shoot the duck, bunny hops and spirals.  At one […]