Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame announces 2017 inductees

The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) will be holding their first induction ceremony in five years this September 23, 2017. The ceremony, taking place at Massey Hall in Toronto, will feature four new inductees: BeauDommage, Bruce Cockburn, Neil Young, and Stéphane Venne. Current performers include Arkells, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Damien Robitaille, Daniel Lavoie, Don […]

CIMA announces recipients and nominees for Celebration & Awards Gala

The Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA) will be holding their third annual Celebration & Awards Gala on June 12. Taking place in Toronto at the Glass Factory, the ceremony is meant to honor those who have made great contributions to independent Canadian music over the last year. The recipients of the Builder Award, Brian Chater […]

Canadian Beats Passport – Show Review – Mayday Parade

Who: Mayday Parade When: May 4, 2017 Where: Théâtre Corona, Montreal QC Ten years ago, Tallahassee band, Mayday Parade, released their first studio album, A Lesson In Romantics. In honor of the ten-year anniversary, the band has been touring North America playing the record in its entirety. I was thrilled to catch them at their stop […]

Lisa LeBlanc releases “I Love You, I Don’t Love You, I Don’t Know” video

New Brunswick singer/songwriter Lisa LeBlanc has just released a brand new video for her song “I Love You, I Don’t Love You, I Don’t Know.” The track is the newest single from last year’s album, Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen? and features vocals from Montreal rocker, Sam Roberts. Directed by DAVAI, the video features LeBlanc and friends […]

CIMA and BuzzAngle Music launch Canadian independent music charts

In late April, the Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA) partnered with BuzzAngle Music to launch the CIMA 20 and CIMA 40, two Canadian music charts to represent independent artists. The CIMA 20 chart provides a list of the top 20 independent Canadian artist albums, based on sales, downloads, and streams within Canada. The CIMA 40 […]

Nickelback releases “Feed The Machine” video

Alberta rockers, Nickelback, have just released a brand new video for “Feed the Machine.” The song is the lead single and title track from the band’s upcoming ninth studio album, set for release on June 16th. The new record is currently available for preorder on the band’s website. You can watch the video for “Feed […]

Canadian Beats Passport – Show Review – Biffy Clyro

Who: Biffy Clyro When: April 9, 2017 Where: Café Campus  Montreal QC Scottish rockers, Biffy Clyro, have been touring Europe since the release of their seventh studio album, Ellipsis, last summer. This spring, the band has brought the show to North America, and I was excited to catch them on their stop at Café Campus […]