Review – Five Alarm Funk

Album: Sweat
Release Date: March 3 , 2017
Download
Genre: Afro Funk, Gypsy Rock, Latin

Vancouver, BC based Five Alarm Funk, are releasing their sixth album by the name, Sweat.  The band consists of eight members, Tayo Branston (drums/vocals), Gabe Boothroyd (guitar), Oliver Gibson (guitar), Jason Smith (bass), Thomas Towers (congas), Carl Julig (timbales), Eli Bennett (saxophone) and Kent Wallace (trumpet).

The album opener “Widowmaker” leaves no question that this band has funky roots, showing you that this album is packed full of feel good vibes. The song “Sweat” comes along with a Latin feel, while “Ill Wind” had a Santana sound to it, with the guitar style it showcases. The last track “10,000 Scarabs” is like middle eastern infused funk, I really enjoyed that track the most.

The band is beginning a series of tour dates very soon, and their style leads me to believe they would be very high energy to see on stage.

Tues, March 14 – Kamloops, BC – Blue Grotto
Wed, March 15 – Banff, AB – Wild Bill’s
Thurs, March 16 – Edmonton, AB – The Needle
Fri, March 17 – Saskatoon, SK – Capitol Music Club
Sat, March 18 – Winnipeg, MB – The Pyramid
Sun, March 19 – Thunder Bay, ON – Crock’s
Wed, March 22 – Hamilton, ON – The Casbah
Thurs, March 23 – Windsor, ON – The Rondo
Fri, March 24 – London, ON – London Music Hall
Sat, March 25 – Sarnia, ON – Paddy Flaherty’s
Sun, March 26 – Peterborough, ON – Red Dog Tavern
Wed, March 29 – Waterloo, ON – Maxwell’s
Thurs, March 30 – Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace
Sat, April 1 – Sarnia, ON – Paddy Flaherty’s
Wed, April 5 – Regina, SK – O’Hanlon’s
Thur, April 6 – Whitecourt, AB – Eagle River Casino
Fri, April 7 – Calgary, AB – Dicken’s Pub
Sat, April 8 – Golden, BC – Rockwater
Fri, April 14 – Victoria, BC – Sugar
Sat, April 15 – Victoria, BC – Sugar
Sat, May 27 – Vancouver, BC – The Commodore Ballroom

Connect with Five Alarm Funk:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

I wear many hats, such as working full time as an ophthalmic assistant, Birth Doula, selling Younique- and now I also have taken up writing with Canadian Beats. I have always enjoyed writing, and I am so excited to be doing it again. We all need outlets and this for me is something that I love to do. Music has always been a big part of my life, and attending concerts is one of my favorite things to do. The energy that I get from seeing a band play live is like no other, I think it’s almost an addiction for me!
I tend to lean towards rock, alternative, indie, folk and acoustic music- but I am also open to listening to something new too! Maybe I’ll see you around at a concert!

You must be logged in to post a comment Login